top of page

The Delightful Pam Ayres


As a young child in the 70's I loved creative writing time at school, when we could write about whatever we wanted. Better still if our creative writing time involved listening to or writing a poem, I was in my element.

Until I was 11 years old I grew up in England so the teacher would read poetry to us from many different English poets, my absolute favourite was Pam Ayers. Her writing seemed to draw me into her comical Look at life, Pam Ayers world in poetry. I want to share with you one of my absolute favourites called Clamp The Mighty Limpet.

Clamp The Mighty Limpet

I am Clamp the Mighty Limpet,

I am solid, I am stuck.

I am welded to the rock face

with my superhuman suck.

I live along the waterline

and in the dreary caves.

I am clamp the mighty Limpet

I am ruler of the waves.

What care I for the shingle,

For the dragging of the tide,

With my unrelenting sucker

And my granite underside?

There's only one reward

For those who come to prise at me

And that's to watch their fingernails

As they go floating out to sea.

Don't upset me, I'm a limpet

Though it's plankton I devour

Be very, very careful

I can move an inch an hour!

Don't you poke or prod me

For I warn you - if you do

You stand there for a fortnight

and I might be stuck on you!

I remember having to learn this off by heart and read it out to the class, I had so much admiration for that funny lady that I would sometimes see on the TV reading out her poems.

I was reminded of her wonderful poems today when I went into a second hand bookstore and came across two of her delightful books.

Comments


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page