top of page

As We Say Goodbye


I haven't written here for a while as I have been super busy. I travelled to England to see my grandmother as she was unwell and I have also been working on my other website.

The poem I would like to share with you today is called As We Say Goodbye and it is a poem I wrote to be read at my nans funeral, a dedication to a very inspirational lady. Her angel wings appeared on 30 August 2017. She passed through the veil on this day at the amazing age of 102 with the wonderful Louise Hay who has also been another inspiration of mine.

This has probably been one of the hardest poems I have ever had to write, not because I am filled with sadness, as I know your soul is free of your body to soar to heights only an angel can, but because there are no words to really express what a beautiful person you were with a heart bigger than any other I have ever known.

As We Say Goodbye

Not only are there angels

In the heavens, up above.

There are some that walk the earth life

Spreading happiness and love.

That’s what you were in my eyes

And all of those you knew.

Your thoughts always on others

In all that you would do.

You gave more than any other

Of your time and all you had.

If someone else was hurting

I know that it would make you sad.

It didn’t matter where you went

You were always loved by all.

That loving and caring kindness,

To all creatures great and small.

You touched lives the whole world over

With your donations and your gifts.

Your home was filled with keepsakes

Of all the lives, you did uplift.

Oh Bev, I mustn’t grumble

Were the words you often said.

When asked how you were feeling

You would smile and shake your head.

I know you’re here with us today

As we say our last goodbyes.

Standing somewhere amongst us

Wiping the tears of those who cry.

There will be hundreds there to greet you

In the heavens, up above.

As you fly towards the veil,

open arms welcoming you with love.

Good bye for now, sweet lady

Your memories will live on.

The legacy of kindness you left

Will never, ever be gone.

© Beverley Chance 2017

Comments


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page